Monday, June 26, 2017
Text Size

Site Search powered by Ajax

image image image image
MCT expresses sympathy to Mawio editor The Executive Secretary of Media Council of Tanzanian expressed sympathy to the managing editor of Mawio, Simon Mkina, following the government decision to ban his newspaper for two years.
TEF joins fray criticising Govt for banning Mawio Tanzania Editors Forum has joined the fray in protesting the government’s decision to ban Mawio newspaper for two years.
Government urged to rescind ban on Mawio The government has been urged to rescind the two-year ban it has imposed on Mawio newspaper as the order contravenes the country’s constitution and the Media Services Act of 2016 which basically does not empower the minister for information to mete out such punishment.
IMS representatives meet MCT officials Representatives of the International Media Support (IMS) held talks with officials of the Media Council on June 16, 2017.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Resource Centre


Press Clippings

Press Release

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4


Media Council of Tanzania Website


The deadline for submitting entries for the Excellency in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) 2013 has been extended to January 21, 2014.

The initial deadline was January 15.

The chairperson of the Organizing Committee, Kajubi Mukajanga   explained in statement released on January 15, 2014 that the extension has been necessitated by the holidays in which journalists were not able to present their entries due to the closure of offices.

Another reason for the extension is to give more time for those who intend to take part in the competition.

So far over 700 entries have been received and more are expected.

The statement signed by the Regulation and Standards Manager of the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT), Pili Mtambalike, on behalf of the chairperson of the EJAT Organising Committee,  points out that there will be no more extension after the expiry of the new deadline.

This is the fourth time the competition is taking place and contestants have been increasing every time the event is held.

In 2012 nearly 1,000 entries were received reflecting a steady rise of entries and an increased interest on the part of media practitioners to participate in the competition.

EJAT provides a forum for journalists compete for awards and prizes every year. This year it has 19 different categories.

The competition is organized by the Media Council in collaboration with Tanzania Media Fund (TMF), Media Institute of Southern Africa –Tanzania chapter (MISA-Tan),Tanzania Media Women’s Association (TAMWA), Tanzania Editors Forum (TEF), Association of Journalists Against Aids (AJAATA), Journalists Environmental Association in Tanzania (JET), Media Owners Association of Tanzania (MOAT), Hakielimu, AMREF, ANSAF, BEST-AC and Sikika.


Add comment

Security code

Media Headlines

MCT Videos
videoMore Videos...

Photo Gallery
photoMore Photos...

Journalism Awards


Visitors Counter

All days


  • No feeds found!