Thursday, August 17, 2017
Text Size

Site Search powered by Ajax

image image image image
Chinese journalists visit MCT A delegation of Chinese journalists visited the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) and exchanged views on how to further cement the cooperation between Chinese and Tanzanian journalists.
MCT launches reports on state of media and investigation on Clouds TV The Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) has formally launched its annual flagship publication – The State of Media for 2016 and a Probe Report on the Invasion of Clouds Media Group.
MCT to launch State of Media Report 2016 and Probe Report on invasion of Clouds TV The Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) will on Monday August 14, 2017 launch its flagship publication – the State of Media Report for 2016 and Probe Report on the invasion of Clouds TV Studios.
Tanzania Daima ordered to apologise to Ludewa DC Tanzania Daima newspaper has been ordered to apologise to the Ludewa District Commissioner, Andrea T’sere for publishing false report about him and his family.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Resource Centre


Press Clippings

Press Release

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4


Media Council of Tanzania Website


The Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) 2014 has entered crucial stage with the disclosure of the number of submitted entries and the swearing in of the event’s judges on March 26, 2015.

The chairperson of the EJAT organizing Committee, Kajubi Mukajanga announced at a packed news conference that a total of 959 entries have been submitted to vie for trophies and prizes in EJAT 2014.

He said Dar es Salaam tops the list with 412 entries followed by Mwanza with 198 entries, Kagera with 66, Zanzibar with 46 and Arusha is fifth with 37 entries.

Responding to a question why Dar es Salaam has more entries, Henry Muhanika – an EJAT partner from the Media Owners Association of Tanzania (MOAT) said that Dar hosts most media houses adding that there is a need to encourage more journalists from upcountry to participate in competition.

Mukajanga on his part explained that though Dar es Salaam is small in size compared to the rest of the country, it is the economic hub.

The entries for the competition Mukajanga said have been submitted by media practitioners from 69 media outlets.

The Guardian Limited is leading with 137 entries, followed by Mwananchi Communications with 87 entries, Mwanza based Afya Radio with 68 entries, Sahara Media 63, Radio Sauti 50, TBC 46, Tanzania Standard Newspapers 42, Raia Mwema 37, ITV, Radio One and East Africa Radio and TV 35 and TV1 28.

There are several other media outlets which submitted few entries ranging from 1 to slightly over 20.

The entries were submitted by 273 male and 119 female journalists.

Of the 21 categories of the event, ten categories attracted more entries.

They are as follows - Open category has 81 entries; Health Reporting 75 entries; Education 71: Good Governance 71; Agriculture 65; Gender 62; Maternal and new born 60; Investigative 58; Sport and culture 52 and Economic and Business 50.

Responding to another question on the inclusion of a category for Court Reporting, Mukajanga said the organizing committee will look into that possibility for the next competition.

Meanwhile seven of the nine judges who will scrutinise the entries and pick winners were sworn-in by the President of the Media Council of Tanzania rtd Justice Thomas Mihayo.


The judges who were sworn-in immediately after their names were announced during the news conference on EJAT 2014 are the presiding Judge – Chrystostom Rweyemamu, Allan Lawa, Joyce Bazira, Ali Uki, Edda Sanga, Charles Kayoka and Suleiman Kissoky.

Two others - Theophil Makunga and Jesse Kwayu who were not present will be sworn–in later.

The judges will start their task of scrutinizing the entries on April 8, 2015 and the assignment will last for a week.

Justice Mihayo caused laughter when he told the judges that he does not envy them, but asked them to be diligent and to maintain high integrity in the work they entrusted with.

This is the sixth edition of EJAT which takes place every year since 2009.

Alongside EJAT one media practitioner will be awarded for life time achievement for outstanding contribution to the journalism profession.

This will be the fourth time journalists are awarded for life time achievement. The award was first given in 2011.



0 #2 Haroon Juma 2015-03-26 15:42
Tunawaamin ndo maana tunatuma kazi kwenye mashindano hayo." Ni muhimu kufanya mambo kwa uhakika ikiwa ni pamoja na kutangaza majina mapema ili watu wajiandae mapema maana wengi walitegemea kwakuwa mlianza mapema basi angalau majina yangetoka mwezi huu wa tatu lakin badala yake huenda yakatoka wiki moja kabla ya tukio husika
0 #1 Haroon Juma 2015-03-26 15:37
Ukweli tunashukuru sana kwa taarifa hiyo maana mlikuwa kimya sana kuliko kawaida.
Baada ya shukrani hizo napenda kufahamu mbona mwaka huu mmechelewa sana?
Pia naona kama kuna muda mfupi sana baada ya kutangazwa majina kuelekea siku ya utoaji tuzo. kuna kama wiki tu hamuoni kama mtakuwa mnawakurupusha waandishi hao kimaandalizi? maana kila muandishi ana majukumu yake katika kituo chake sasa itampa kazi kuanza kuangalia wa kumkabidhi majukumu yake sambamba na kupata ruhusa toka kwa muajiri. kuna waajiri wengine sio waelewa. Na pia hata nauli maana kuna waandishi wengine wana hali mbaya kiuchumi sasa kupata fedha kwa haraka inakuwa ngumu mno.

Add comment

Security code

Media Headlines

MCT Videos
videoMore Videos...

Photo Gallery
photoMore Photos...

Journalism Awards


Visitors Counter

All days


  • No feeds found!