Saturday, December 16, 2017
Text Size


Board of Trustees


An accomplished academic who served at different times as Vice Chancellor of the University of Sokoine University of Agriculture, University of Dar es Salaam, and Open University of Tanzania and Provost of Tumaini University Dar es Salaam College, Professor Geofrey Mmari was the first President of the Media Council , a position he held from the founding of the Council in 1995 to 2006. He played pivotal role in setting and cementing the foundation of the Council. He started serving as member of of the Board of Trustees after been appointed by the National General Convention (NGC) held on December 2006. The Board of Trustee is vested with the assets and liabilities of the Council which are managed the governing Board


Former Prime Minister and Vice President of the United Republic of Tanzania and Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Joseph Sinde Warioba also served as Judge East Africa Court of Justice, Judge , International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Humburg Germany, Director of Legal and International Affairs in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He served as the Chairperson of the Council’s Ethics Committee from 1997 to 2008 and contributed immensely to the success of the committee achieving record compliance of its rulings


Having risen to the position of Judge of the High Court of the United Republic of Tanzania, now retired, Justice Augusta Bubeshi has attained impeccable credentials as one of the few females to rise to high position in the judiciary. She started her career with the Attorney General Chambers and was later attached to Directorate of Public Prosecution

Journalism Awards



  • No feeds found!