Saturday, February 17, 2018
Text Size

Our Governing Board

President of the Media Council of Tanzania

A retired High Court Judge, Mihayo had first served the Governing Board as member and chaired the Ethics Committee for one three year term, before being elected President of the Council and Chairman of the Board in 2014. He was re-elected to the position for the second time on September 29, 2017. He will serve the Governing Board of the Council for another three years. He brings to the Governing Board vast experience from his work not only as a senior member of the bench, but a high level administrator and arbiter as well.


A veteran journalist and media executive with extensive experience in media management, Mitawi is a very well known name in Zanzibar media circles. He has headed public media outlets in Zanzibar - including the Zanzibar Broadcasting Corporation (ZBC). He has also served as Director of Information Department and Deputy Permanent Secretary in the Zanzibar Ministry of Information. He had previously served as member of the MCT Governing Board and bounced back to the Council as Vice President in 2014 and was re-elected to the position on September 29, 2017. He also chairs the Board Finance and Administrative Committee.


As the Council Executive Secretary, he is an ex officio member of the Board. Kajubi has been a reporter, editor, media trainer, and publisher. He is also a poet and novelist. For over two decades he has been in the leadership of journalists’ organizations, having been at the helm of the Media Institute of Southern Africa – Tanzania Chapter (MISA-Tan), the Association of Journalists and Media Workers (AJM), and MCT. Kajubi is the immediate past president of the World Association of Press Councils (WAPC). In 2006/7 he authored, together with two international consultants, the project document for the Tanzania Media Fund (now Foundation), and successfully launched the Fund.

He has written or contributed to 14 books, including journalism training manuals, biographies, poetry anthologies, and novels. Kajubi is an ardent advocate of freedom of expression and press freedom. He is Secretary to the Governing Board and all its Committees.


Mlay is a jurist if high standing, a former High Court Judge who before that served as a parliamentary draftsman and a public prosecutor. He was first elected to the Governing Board in 2014 when he chaired the Ethics Committee of the Council from 2014 to 2017, and was re-elected on September 29, 2017. He continues to chair the Ethics Committee and also sits on the Audit Committee.


A top name in finance management and audit professions in the country, Dr. Mndolwa worked for a decade and a half as a Senior Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers, one of the top four audit firms. This highly qualified financial expert first joined the Governing Board of the Media Council of Tanzania in 2016 following the amendment of the Council’s Constitution which introduced a pre-requisite that one member of the Board should have expertise in financial matters. He was re-elected on September 29, 2017. And with his credentials, he of course chairs the Audit Committee.


She is a veteran broadcaster and a past nominee of the Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Award. A household name, Sanga is that breed of broadcasters who excelled when Radio Tanzania Dar es Salaam (RTD) was the only major broadcaster as well as when President Ali Hassan Mwinyi opened up the airwaves to allow private TV and radio stations to blossom. She also served at the national television, the National Electoral Commission, and University of Dar es Salaam’s Mlimani TV where she was Manager. Sanga is the current Director of the Tanzania Media Women Association (TAMWA). She was elected member to the Governing Board on September 29, 2017. Sanga sits on the Ethics Committee as Vice Chairperson and member of the Audit Committee.


This High Court advocate is also a vibrant human rights advocate with proven competence in areas of human rights, gender and women’s rights, constitutional law, good governance, children rights and civil society organisations. She has also served as board member on boards of various institutions including Tanzania Land Alliance, Basic Needs Tanzania, Christian Council of Tanzania and is a founder member of the Centre against Gender Based Violence. She was elected member of MCT Governing Board on September 29, 2017. Adv. Henga serves on Finance and Administration Committee as Vice Chairperson and member of Ethics Committee.



He is an old hand in print media – an editor, trainer and a mentor. He is a long serving Managing Editor of The Guardian newspaper. He started his career in the media as a reporter with the Information Services on graduating from the University of Dar es Salaam in the 70s. He also had a stint as a lecturer at the then Tanzania School of Journalism. He joined up with colleagues to found the Dar es Salaam based Time School of Journalism. Mauggo first served the Governing Board of the Council as a member from 2014 and was re-elected on September 29, 2017. He sits on the Finance and Administration Committee and the Ethics Committee of the Board.


A long serving journalist with Mwananchi Communications Limited, the publishers of Mwananchi, The Citizen and Mwanaspoti newspapers, Machumu rose through the ranks as reporter, Business Editor, Managing Editor and is now the Executive Editor of the company. Thoughtful and soft spoken, he is credited with seeing the company papers adapt to changing situations in innovative ways to keep them on top of their genre. He was elected member of the Governing Board on September 29, 2017. Machumu sits on the Finance and Administration Committee and Audit Committee.


Better known Dina, she is a long serving Editor of Channel Ten Television in Dar es Salaam and a correspondent for Voice of America (VoA). Working in a career where women are still scarce in top positions, she has demonstrated quality leadership and an enviable work ethic. She brings a wealth of experience to the Council as member of the Governing Board. In the past, Dina was trusted to serve on the judging panel of the Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT), and did so in the capacity of Chief Judge. Chahali was elected Member of the Governing Board on September 29, 2017 and serves on the Ethics Committee.

Journalism Awards



  • No feeds found!