Saturday, February 17, 2018
Text Size


Mukajanga launches EJAT 2017


The ninth edition of the Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) 2017 has been formally launched.

The chairperson of the EJAT Organising Committee, Kajubi Mukajanga has appealed to media practitioners in the country to start submitting entries from October 6, 2016 the day he officially launched the competition during a press conference held at the offices of the Media Council of Tanzania. EJAT is held once every year.

Mukajanga in his remarks discouraged the tendency of contestants to delay to submit entries until final days. The entries should be from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017.

“The competition is open from now and the final deadline for submitting entries is February 16, 2018 and the EJAT bash will be held on April 27, 2018”, he said.

He however said that the number of entries has been reduced from 19 of EJAT 2016 to 14 in EJAT 2017.

Kajubi clarified that the decision has been reached to ensure operational efficiency and to maximise utilisation of resources.

The categories which have been dropped are Taxation and Revenue Collection, Public Procurement, News and Current Affairs, HIV/AIDS and Sexual and Reproductive Health of Young People.

Mukajanga further explained that entries on the categories will be considered in other related categories or the open category.

pc 2


Speaking during the launch, Anastazia Rugaba from Twaweza which is a member of the EJAT Organising Committee encouraged journalists to submit many entries.

She said, we know you write good stories which will surely fetch awards. Do not hesitate and submit entries backed by data, she added.

“The media landscape in the country, laden with hostile legislations should not discourage you from participating in the competition”, she said.

Journalists should write armed with evidence and data, she said pledging that Twaweza was ready to assist in training on writing with data.

Categories open for competition in EJAT 2017 are Business, Economy and Finance ,Culture and Sports, Health Reporting, Agriculture and Agribusiness, Education Tourism and Conservation , Investigative reporting, data Journalism, Human rights and Good Governance, Best Photo journalist, Best Cameraman, Best editorial Cartoonist, Gender, Elderly and Children and Open Category.

The EJAT Organising Committee chaired by MCT comprises Tanzania Media Foundation, (TMF), Media Institute of Southern Africa Tanzania chapter (MISA-Tan), Tanzania Media women Association (TAMWA), and Journalists Environmental Association of Tanzania (JET).

Others members of the organising committee are Union of Press Clubs Tanzania (UTPC), Haki Elimu, Tanzania Communication Regulatory Authority (TCRA), Best Dialogue, Sikika, Agriculture Non-State Actors (ANSAF) and the Media Owners Association of Tanzania (MOAT).

The competition started in 2009 has seen several journalists scooping awards for best performance.

Apart from EJAT, the sixth Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Award (LAJA) will also be considered this year.

Candidates for this award are those with an impressive track record of excellence in journalism as well as those who have shown a strong and unwavering support and commitment for excellence in journalism and press freedom.

No entries are required for this particular award, which can be awarded post-humously or to retired or senior journalists.

LAJA was not awarded last year.

Add comment

Security code

Journalism Awards



  • No feeds found!