Saturday, December 16, 2017
Text Size


Taxation and Revenue Collection category reinstated in EJAT


Taxation and Revenue Collection has been reinstated as category to be competed in the ninth edition of the Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) 2017.

The category was dropped alongside Public Procurement, News and Current Affairs, HIV/AIDS and Sexual and Reproductive Health of Young People.

The chairperson of the Organising Committee of EJAT, Kajubi Mukajanga had said during the launch of the competition October 6, 2017, that the decision has been reached to ensure operational efficiency and to maximise utilisation of resources.

Mukajanga announced the new status of Taxation and Revenue Collection category on November 2, 2017.

He said that Tanzania Revenue Authority has committed to sponsor the category and urged journalist to submit entries on the Taxation and Revenue Collection category.

Entries should be from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 and the deadline for submitting them is February 16, 2018 and the EJAT bash will be held on April 27, 2018.

Other categories open for competition in EJAT 2017 are Business, Economy and Finance ,Culture and Sports, Health Reporting, Agriculture and Agribusiness, Education Tourism and Conservation , Investigative reporting, data Journalism, Human rights and Good Governance, Best Photo journalist, Best Cameraman, Best editorial Cartoonist, Gender, Elderly and Children and Open Category.

The EJAT Organising Committee chaired by MCT comprises Tanzania Media Foundation, (TMF), Media Institute of Southern Africa Tanzania chapter (MISA-Tan), Tanzania Media women Association (TAMWA), and Journalists Environmental Association of Tanzania (JET).

Others members of the organising committee are Union of Press Clubs Tanzania (UTPC), Haki Elimu, Tanzania Communication Regulatory Authority (TCRA), Best Dialogue, Sikika, Agriculture Non-State Actors (ANSAF) and the Media Owners Association of Tanzania (MOAT).

The competition started in 2009 has seen several journalists scooping awards for best performance.

Apart from EJAT, the sixth Lifetime Achievement in Journalism Award (LAJA) will also be considered this year.

No entries are required for this particular award, which can be awarded post-humously or to retired or senior journalists

Add comment

Security code

Journalism Awards



  • No feeds found!