Monday, January 22, 2018
Text Size


Zanzibar President to grace EJAT 2012

slide2The Zanzibar President, Dr.  Ali Mohammed Shein will grace the Excellence in Journalism Awards Tanzania (EJAT) Gala Night on April 5, 2013. 

The chairperson of the EJAT organizing committee, Kajubi Mukajanga told a packed news conference held in the boardroom of the Media Council of Tanzania (MCT) which is the lead partner of the professional competition that 946 entries vie for awards for the 2012 EJAT.

“It is encouraging and very heartening that the number of entries for the event have been increasing each year”, Mukajanga said during the meeting held on Friday February 15, 2013.

He recalled that in the first year 2009 of the event 304 entries were received, in 2010 the number of entries went up to 437 and for 2011 it was 772.

The trend reflects that the competition is well received by media practitioners and is good and effective.

Giving the breakdown of the entries, Mukajanga said that 660 entries have been received print media, 184 Radio and Television 102.

In the print media pack, Mwananchi communication presented more entries in the competition.

Mukajanga said while Mwananchi Communications placed 204 entries, The Guardian Limited placed 99 entries, Business Times 91 and Tanzania Standard Newspapers 78 entries.

Regional wise, Dar es Salaam is leading with 572 entries, followed by Arusha  64, Mwanza 55, Mbeya 35 and Kagera 33 entries.

The number of entries from Zanzibar the other part forming the United Republic of Tanzania is 26 entries.

Gender wise 439 entries were received from males and 102 from female media practitioners.

A panel of ten judges picked to sieve and scrutinize the entries, will be led by Wence Mushi a veteran editor with vast experience in both print and electronic media,

The judging panel will start work on February 25, 2013.

Mukajanga explained that the panel had nine members last year but this year one member has been added due to increase of new categories which are Agriculture and Agri-Business, and Reproductive Health for Youth and Best Cameraman for Television. This raises the number of categories to 20.

The members of the judging panel are Eda Sanga, Dinnah Chahali, Yusuf Omar Chunda, Anaclet Rwegayura, Pudenciana Temba, Pili Mtambalike, Mwanzo Milinga, Ngalimecha Ngahyoma and Attilio Tagalile who is the panel’s secretary.

Mukajanga used the occasion to name members of the panel of experts for proposing candidates for Life Time Achievement in Journalism.

The experts who he said have vast experience in media are Theophil Makunga, Joyce Mhaville, Lillian Kalaghe, Jenerali Ulimwengu and  Hamis Mzee.

The final decision on the winner of this category will be made by the heads of the media institutions in the organizing committee of EJAT.

This will be the second time such winner is picked. In 2011, veteran journalist, editor and trainer Fili Karashani bagged the shs 10,000 prize, trophy and certificate for the Life Time Achievement Award.

Members of the organizing committee of EJAT include  the Tanzania Media Institute of Southern Africa – Tanzania Chapter (MISA-Tan), Tanzania Media Women’s Association (TAMWA) Journalists Environment Association of Tanzania JET) Tanzania editors Forum (TEF), HakiElimu, AMREF, ANSAF, BEST-AC, the  Association Against Aids in Tanzania (AJAAT) , Tanzania Media Fund (TMF) and  Media Owners Association of Tanzania (MOAT).

Add comment

Security code

Journalism Awards



  • No feeds found!